Mind Mapping & Creative Thinking

March 17, 2009

Why don’t the Police use Mind Mapping?

Last summer I was a witness to a serious crime, a young woman was mugged and stabbed.

I have given statements in the past, they are time consuming and I would suggest (although I have no proof) not completely useful.

The process seems to be, you tell your story, the Police listen, you tell it again and they make some notes. You tell it again and they start to write the story down, asking a few but not many questions.  The statement is complete, it is read back to you, then you read it correcting any errors or adding bits that are missing. Then it is written out again, you read check and hopefully sign.

This takes an age.

I Mind Map the crime I witnessed, it took 15 minutes or so. It allowed me to think of all the things that happened and that I could recall. I was able to add information as I recalled it the BOI’s allowed me to focus and recall quickly, easily and accurately.

Then we produced the statement, quickly, accurately and in a much shorter period of time.

The detective had never seen a Mind Map and did not know how they worked. He was impressed, I had saved him loads of time in the early hours of the morning.

The question I have is why don’t the Police use Mind Mapping. Maybe someone will tell me or put me in touch with someone who can let me train the Police to Mind Map. I hope so. My friends who are Police Officers have also never seen or used Mind Mapping, they don’t know who I should speak to about getting this fantastic process and tool into the Police service.

We will see……………….

1 Comment »

  1. This sounds like such a great application of mind mapping.
    You also sound so passionate about this application that I know you will make the opportunity happen.

    Comment by hannahejones — March 23, 2009 @ 9:57 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

